About Abu Dhabi

The Emirate of Abu Dhabi, where the city of Abu Dhabi is the capital, is one of seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and is located in the oil-rich region of the Arabian Gulf. It is widely believed that Abu Dhabi got its name, which literally means "father of deer" or "father of gazelle", because the animals roamed the region.

By area, Abu Dhabi is the largest emirate at 67,340 km² and second to Dubai in terms of population, with an estimated 1.6 million living in the emirate and 900,000 in the city itself. This population is mainly made up of expatriates from all over the world. The President of the United Arab Emirates is based in Abu Dhabi, along with federal cabinet. The city is also home to many large corporate businesses, oil companies and foreign embassies.

The national language and that of the native-born population is Arabic, although English is widely used, especially in the cities.

Abu Dhabi has a sub-tropical climate with clear blue skies throughout the year. Rainfall is minimal and mainly occurs between November and April, though with an average annual precipitation of 107 mm, even then the rainfall is infrequent.

Abu Dhabi holds 9% of the world’s proven oil reserves and approximately 5% of the world’s natural gas giving the UAE one of the highest GDP per capita in the world. In addition to this, revenue from industry, construction and financial.

نبذة عن إمارة أبوظبي

إمارة أبوظبي هي واحدة من الإمارات السبع التي تشكل معاً دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة, وهي تحتضن العاصمة أبوظبي وتقع في منطقة الخليج العربي الغنية بالنفط, ويُعتقد أنها سميت كذلك بسبب كثرة الظباء والغزلان فيها.

تعد أبوظبي الأكبر بين الإمارات السبع من حيث المساحة حيث تبلغ مساحتها 67,340 كيلومتراً مربعاً والثانية بعد دبي من حيث عدد السكان, حيث يقدر عدد سكانها بنحو 1.6 مليون, 900,000 منهم يقطنون مدينة أبوظبي نفسها. تضم التركيبة السكانية للإمارة وافدين من مختلف جنسيات العالم. إمارة أبوظبي هي مقر لصاحب السمو رئيس دولة الإمارات والحكومة الاتحادية, إلى جانب احتضانها للعديد من سفارات الدول الأجنبية وشركات البترول والشركات الكبرى الأخرى.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية التي ينطق بها السكان الأصليون, وتُستخدم اللغة الإنجليزية بشكل واسع, خاصة في المدن.

تتمتع إمارة أبوظبي بمناخ شبه استوائي تنعم من خلاله بطقس مشمس على مدار السنة, وتشهد حالات نادرة من هطول الأمطار خلال الفترة الممتدة بين نوفمبر وأبريل رغم وصول معدل هطول الأمطار فيها إلى 107 مم.

تمتلك أبوظبي 9% من احتياطات النفط ونحو 5% من احتياطات الغاز الطبيعي في العالم, مما يساهم في جعل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في قائمة الدول التي تتمتع بأعلى معدلات نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي, هذا إلى جانب ما تحققه من عائدات من قطاعات الصناعة والمال والبناء.